Skip to content

Adventures in jam

September 13, 2011

As the days grow shorter and the evenings grow longer, I start feeling autumn-y.  All I can think of are warm woolen sweaters, crisp falling leaves and cozy rainy afternoons.  It’s also the perfect time to make jam. I love making jam and all the ritual involved from selecting and preparing the jars and utensils to setting out clean cloths and lids. Once the jam is done, I love setting the jars to cool on the windowsill and listening for and counting the pings as each jar seals. 

Last week we went blackberry picking for jam and made a bunch of lovely jars that seal in the warmth and deliciousness of summer.  Every time I open a jar, I know I will be reminded of the day we picked them in the sunshine and long grass amongst the brambles and wildflowers.   Today I was inspired to make even more jam, so I pulled out my jars, lids and big pots and got to work.  I had lots of blueberries, peaches and some strawberries too, so I made a batch of blueberry and one of strawberry-peach.

After all the jam was done and the jars were set out to cool, I was cleaning up and saw a Tips for Jam Making Success pamphlet inside the pectin packet.  Looking it over, it seems I have broken two cardinal jam rules: don’t cut down on the sugar (I halved the sugar the recipe called for) and Do Not Double the Recipe.  Yikes!  This second one was in bold and italics.  Oh dear.  It says breaking these rules may result in a product that may not set.  Will it set?!  I hope so!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 13, 2011 10:43 pm

    Gorgeous! Um, can I try some next time I come over? Whee hee! You are my jam-making inspiration – looks so yummy!

  2. October 13, 2011 9:00 pm

    Your jam lasted maaaaybe 2 weeks in the house. I had peanut butter and tasty jam every lunch and Cas had it for breakfast.

    SOO good. The blueberry was very tasty, but the strawberry was epic. ❤ Lucky me!

Leave a Reply

