Skip to content

Flower Delivery Friday

February 25, 2011

After scouring the West End, I’ve hit the flower jackpot for your Flower Delivery Friday: a rhododendron in full bloom!  In February.  Actually, despite the cold weather, we’ve had a lot of sunshine so it has been feeling quite Spring-y and it was a pretty prolific week flower-wise.  I have a lot of delights to tempt you!

Rhododendrons always remind me of a William Blake poem because of their wild little tiger-y spots on their inner petals.  I think you can just barely see them here.  These guys are so pink!

To see a world in a grain of sand,

And heaven in a wild flower,

Hold infinity in the palm of your hand,

And eternity in an hour.

~ William Blake,  Auguries of Innocence

 

This sunny little patch of yellow Crocuses (Croci?)  looked like they had formed a bouquet all on their own.

 

 

Witch Hazel.  Gotta love this early bloomer.  I’m a late bloomer myself.  Yeah, you and me Witch Hazel, we don’t have much in common.

 

 

The humble Pussy Willow – one of my favourite parts of spring.  I love your fuzzy, hardy, yet delicate selves.

 

 

Catkins.  I wasn’t sure if these were catkins, so I had to look them up (and they are)!  I didn’t realize this before, but ‘Catkins’ is simply a name for a flower cluster found in many plant families and I believe they are a relative of our darling pussy willow (above) .  In many of these plants, only the male flowers form catkins and the female flowers form a single a cone in trees such as the hazel, oak or alder. In other plants (such as poplar), both male and female flowers are borne in catkins.  Wow!  I believe these handsome fellas (because now we know they are boys!) are from a hazel tree.  I love how they look like golden rain.

 

Happy Friday!

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

